marathon week 4

mtn2beach_logo

The first quarter of my marathon training is complete. Week four repeated the previous week’s workouts and I stayed consistent matching week three’s effort, mileage, and pace.

week_04Weather was a factor… for LA. I completed my long run between rainstorms and the cool overcast morning helped me hold a steady pace over 17 miles.

stormy

Once I warmed up I locked into an 8:15-25 pace through fourteen miles. At mile 15 I ran into some runners from a local running club and ran with them for two miles. It wasn’t until after my run that I realized I finished with a sub 7:00 mile. I was jogging and talking along the way and felt good during the final kick. Was this an omen for a strong finish in May?

strand_long_run

Next week I step up to six days running, a longer tempo run, and a longer long run. I’m feeling good today and ready for phase two of my training.

Leave a Reply

