peak week 14

mtn2beach_logo

My final week of training before a two week taper. I made it! But why do I feel so beat up? Did I over train and run my race already? Will I be fresh on race day?

week_14

My final long run started in Hermosa Beach and took me north to Marina del Rey, passing through Manhattan Beach, El Segundo, LAX, and Playa del Rey.

dockweiler_1

After 14 miles I ran five more at my goal pace of 7:45. When I finished I had run 20+ miles and felt awful. I hurt everywhere and felt out of it all day. Was I prepared  for the marathon?

dockweiler_2

I looked back to where my running was before 2016 and how far I’d come since. Maybe a before and after comparison would help me understand if I was ready to run- to race- the marathon.

What I realized:

  • I can run 10 miles any time I want to.
  • During a recent tempo run I beat my 10K pr.
  • I run six days a week.
  • I completed a 20-mile run once in my life before starting my marathon training; I ran four 20-milers over the last five weeks.

And the big one:

  • I’m tired, sore, and sometimes disoriented. But I am not injured!

Before starting to train for M2B I considered all of the above unattainable. I may not feel it now, but I made a huge leap in my running performance, fitness and endurance. Physically, my training is complete. I’m heading into new territory mentally but I can feel confident and count on my body.

Taper time!

 

Leave a Reply

