summer running

pink_north

This summer, my best time to run is early morning along the beach. No complaints there. I spent most of July exploring the South Bay from Palos Verdes, through the beach cities of Redondo, Hermosa, and Manhattan, and as far north as El Segundo.

july_running

After running a marathon at the end of May, I spent June in recovery mode building back my weekly mileage. In July, I put together a string of consistent weeks and feel like I’m back to normal. I started the month with a 5K and surprised myself with a new PR. For the rest of the month I stayed consistent with five runs and a long run each week.

hb_strand

The Strand bike path is flat and fast. I found that I could work on my running form without worrying about traffic or the irregularities I encounter on trail runs. It’s also ten to twenty degrees cooler than the rest of LA, a definite advantage for summer training.

RAT_beach

The bike path ends at RAT beach and the Palos Verdes peninsula. From the top of the bluffs you can see all the way north to Malibu and most days are just right for running.

south_bay

This summer has been a nice break from dedicated training. Three half marathons and then a marathon took up almost an entire year. Now I’m ready to get back to setting goals and racing. I’ll be starting with a trail 10K next month and targeting the Manhattan Beach 10K in early October as a goal race.

Leave a Reply

